The Giver Booker Review by: Graison J.

To start off id like to say this was one of the best books I’ve read and I have more than one reason. This book kept me very interested which is hard because in my mind I think I have better things to do than read but this was something that when I started I couldn’t stop. Lois Lowry even won a Newbery Medal in 1994 for this great book.

  

The choices, which provide the catalyst for discussion, all involve one central decision: to forgo the highs of life in order to get rid of the lows; to find the middle way. There is a lot to be said for this, though Jonas, speaking presumably for the author, ultimately rejects it. Some children will agree with Jonas, but others will find themselves attracted to a life that is uniformly pleasant, if never exhilarating.

  Jonas’s world is very appealing. The community runs by common agreement to its rules; some freedom is sacrificed for security; joy, for avoidance of misery. It’s not as action packed as I would like but is very interesting and makes you think what you would do for a peaceful and painless world. I recommend this book to anyone who likes Science Fiction because it is based in the future and has lots of thing in the utopian city that is very fictional. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

