SHERLOCK HOLMES – reviewed by Angela Chan

Title:Sherlock Holmes
Directed by: Guy Ritchie
Distributed by: Warner Bros. Pictures
Rated: PG-13

“No girl wants to marry a doctor who can’t tell if a man’s dead or not!” Sherlock Holmes. That quote, is my favorite quote in the entire movie. In Sherlock Holmes, Sherlock (played by Robert Downey Jr., Iron Man, Zodiac, and The Soloist) and Watson, (played by Jude Law, The Holiday, Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, and Gattaca) have to find a serial killer, who thinks of himself as a “sorcerer,” Lord Blackwood (played by Mark Strong). After they arrest Lord Blackwood, they think their case is closed, not until after Watson pronounces that Lord Blackwood is dead, that they find out that Lord Blackwood has return from the grave. Which is where the quote came from. With the help, and distraction of Irene Adler (played by Rachel McAdams, The Time Traveler’s Wife, Mean Girls, and The Notebook), the case is reopened to make sure that Lord Blackwood doesn’t goes after his bigger plans.

Sitting in a theater with my sister and cousins, I couldn’t have been more blown away. I had wanted to see this movie ever since I’ve seen the trailers for it. And I was certainly not disappointed. The sound effects were amazing! During the movie there were times where there were slow motions, foreshadowing what Sherlock Holmes was going to do next. There were moments where watching the foreshadowing, I was cringing at what he was doing! But it was amazing! Even the settings looked like I would have imagined old England. Within 2 minutes into the movie I felt I was there running the streets of London with Holmes! And helping Watson and Holmes catch Lord Blackwood. Everything was incredibly believable. The clothing, as I’ve said, the settings, the dialogues and the accents were extremely believable. The soundtrack to it was amazing too. When the setting needed to be sneaky, it did not disappoint, at all.
If you haven’t seen Sherlock Holmes, I absolutely suggest you do. It will be the best movie you’ll see. And since I haven’t done so already, I absolutely applaud Guy Ritchie and everybody else who was involved in the movie! They made an amazing movie, that I will not forget in a LONG time!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

